Celebrating our 11th Anniversary

The Winners of the 2019/2020 Collection were announced at

The People’s Book Prize 11th Awards Ceremony, in the presence of Patron Frederick Forsyth CBE on 23th July 2020. 

It was decided to have a virtual online event rather than the prestigious black-tie dinner, as large gatherings are not possible this year.

The Winners:

The People’s Book Prize for Fiction

The Weighing of the Heart by Paul Tudor Owen published by Obliterati Press

The People’s Book Prize for Non-Fiction

A Girl Behind Dark Glasses by Jessica Taylor-Bearman published by Hashtag Press

The People’s Book Prize for Children’s Literature

Bea by Nigel Wormack published by Poems & Pictures


The Beryl Bainbridge First Time Author Award

You OK, Christy? By Christy Fleming published by Onstream Publications

The People’s Book Prize Best Achievement Award

Alder by Graham Parry published by Blossom Spring Publishing

The People’s Book Prize Best Publisher Award

Hashtag Press Ltd.

The People’s Book Prize Patron Emeritus Award

Frederick Forsyth CBE  

The People’s Book Prize are privileged to have Frederick Forsyth CBE as their patron.  He is a giant in English Literature.  An inspiration to writers. A great talent.    His novels are read by millions and many have been made into fascinating films.  Even his autobiography reads like a thriller. When you have a FF book you know you are going to have a superb read.   In recognition of his 10 years of tenure and with grateful thanks, Frederick Forsyth was presented with The People’s Book Prize Patron Emeritus Award by Founder Tatiana Wilson.

TPBP Director Tony Humphreys thanked the congregation for attending and reminded publishers to submit their entries for the 2021 Winter collection that starts on 1 October 2020 – online submission forms from www.peoplesbookprize.com deadline to submit 15 September 2020.

 For further information pr@peoplesbookprize.com

Paul Tudor Owen’s book ‘The Weighing Of The Heart’ is an intriguing debut novel about the theft of a priceless piece of Egyptian art in New York. 

Children’s author Nigel Womack and illustrator Ursula Hurst have produced a charming book for young readers about a bee called ‘Bea’, who knits herself a jersey – not of black and yellow – but one of many colours. 

Non-Fiction winner Jessica Taylor-Bearman’s book ‘The Girl Behind Dark Glasses’ recounts her struggle to survive after she was struck down with the neuro-immune disease Myalgic Encephalomyelitis at 15 years old – which landed her in a darkened hospital room, unable to communicate, for four years. 

The First-Time Author award was won this year by Christy Fleming for his memoir ‘You OK, Christy?’, an inspirational story of how one person’s indomitable spirit helped to overcome the many adversities that life threw at him.

The Best Achievement award is given each year to the author whose book advances the human condition, benefitting their community, or the world at large in some way.  This year’s winner, Graham Parry, has written a fantastical children’s book that aims to give support to children suffering the trauma of being in hospital.  A percentage of every sale of the book is being donated to the NHS.   

The winner of this year’s Best Publisher award is Hashtag Press, a dynamic all-female publishing company that has been operating for only three years.  They’ve already published 20 books, and four of their authors reached the finals in this year’s People’s Book Prize.  Two of the company’s directors, Helen Lewis and Abiola Bello, attended the award ceremony. 

The renowned author Frederick Forsyth CBE received at the ceremony The People’s Book Prize Emeritus Award after 10 years of tenure.  He succeeded the founding patron Dame Beryl Bainbridge, DBE who sadly passed away in 2010 after serving as patron for only one year.   

For more information, visit our website at www.peoplesboOkprize.com

Rewarding talent voted exclusively by the public:

6 Awards:  For Fiction, Non-Fiction, Children’s,

Best Achievement, Best Publisher and The Beryl Bainbridge First-Time Author Award.

Patron Emeritus:  Frederick Forsyth CBE 

Founding Patron:  Dame Beryl Bainbridge DBE