Where YOU judge...

new and undiscovered literary works!


THE PEOPLE’S BOOK PRIZE GET THE NATION READING!  and honour Authors and Publishers voted by the public

Since the first Awards Ceremony on 21ST July 2010 The People’s Book Prize chose The Worshipful Company of Stationers and Newspapers Makers for their Awards Ceremony to honour Authors and Publishers voted by the public.

Tradition continues and The People’s Book Prize prestigious event in the presence of patron Frederick Forsyth CBE features prominently in the literary social calendar — an occasion to look forward to.

Stationers’ Hall, located at Ave Maria Lane, London EC4M 7DD, near St. Paul’s Cathedral, is a splendid, unique and exclusive setting to celebrate literature  www.stationers.org    Phone:  020 7248 2934.  It is one of London’s older Livery Companies with its origins in the fourteenth century. This illustrious institution with the most links to literature over 600 years offer service to publishing and related industries and continue to forge a link from the past to the future.

Underneath the portrait of William Shakespeare in a stained-glass window in Stationers’ Hall runs the inscription ‘He was not for an age but for all time’. Four hundred years after his death, we look at Shakespeare’s enduring legacy, both in print and in performance

Presented on the night and rewarding talent voted exclusively by the public: 

6 Awards:  The People’s Book Prize for Fiction, for Non-Fiction, for Children’s, Best Achievement, Best Publisher and The Beryl Bainbridge First-Time Author Award.

Patron:  Frederick Forsyth  CBE  Founding Patron:  Dame Beryl Bainbridge DBE

The 2019/2020 Ceremony:

Celebrating our 11th Anniversary

The Winners of the 2019/2020 Collection were announced at

The People’s Book Prize 11th Awards Ceremony, in the presence of Patron Frederick Forsyth CBE on 23th July 2020.

It was decided to have a virtual online event rather than the prestigious black-tie dinner, as large gatherings are not possible this year.

The Winners:

The People’s Book Prize for Fiction

The Weighing of the Heart by Paul Tudor Owen published by Obliterati Press

The People’s Book Prize for Non-Fiction

A Girl Behind Dark Glasses by Jessica Taylor-Bearman published by Hashtag Press

The People’s Book Prize for Children’s Literature

Bea by Nigel Wormack published by Poems & Pictures

The Beryl Bainbridge First Time Author Award

You OK, Christy? By Christy Fleming published by Onstream Publications

The People’s Book Prize Best Achievement Award

Alder by Graham Parry published by Blossom Spring Publishing

The People’s Book Prize Best Publisher Award
Hashtag Press Ltd.

The People’s Book Prize Patron Emeritus Award
Frederick Forsyth CBE

The People’s Book Prize are privileged to have Frederick Forsyth CBE as their patron.  He is a giant in English Literature.  An inspiration to writers. A great talent.    His novels are read by millions and many have been made into fascinating films.  Even his autobiography reads like a thriller. When you have a FF book you know you are going to have a superb read.   In recognition of his 10 years of tenure and with grateful thanks, Frederick Forsyth was presented with The People’s Book Prize Patron Emeritus Award by Founder Tatiana Wilson.

TPBP Director Tony Humphreys thanked the congregation for attending and reminded publishers to submit their entries for the 2021 Winter collection that starts on 1 October 2020 – online submission forms from www.peoplesbookprize.com deadline to submit 15 September 2020.

For further information pr@peoplesbookprize.com

Paul Tudor Owen’s book ‘The Weighing Of The Heart’ is an intriguing debut novel about the theft of a priceless piece of Egyptian art in New York.

Children’s author Nigel Womack and illustrator Ursula Hurst have produced a charming book for young readers about a bee called ‘Bea’, who knits herself a jersey – not of black and yellow – but one of many colours.

Non-Fiction winner Jessica Taylor-Bearman’s book ‘The Girl Behind Dark Glasses’ recounts her struggle to survive after she was struck down with the neuro-immune disease Myalgic Encephalomyelitis at 15 years old – which landed her in a darkened hospital room, unable to communicate, for four years.

The First-Time Author award was won this year by Christy Fleming for his memoir ‘You OK, Christy?’, an inspirational story of how one person’s indomitable spirit helped to overcome the many adversities that life threw at him.

The Best Achievement award is given each year to the author whose book advances the human condition, benefitting their community, or the world at large in some way.  This year’s winner, Graham Parry, has written a fantastical children’s book that aims to give support to children suffering the trauma of being in hospital.  A percentage of every sale of the book is being donated to the NHS.

The winner of this year’s Best Publisher award is Hashtag Press, a dynamic all-female publishing company that has been operating for only three years.  They’ve already published 20 books, and four of their authors reached the finals in this year’s People’s Book Prize.  Two of the company’s directors, Helen Lewis and Abiola Bello, attended the award ceremony.

The renowned author Frederick Forsyth CBE received at the ceremony The People’s Book Prize Emeritus Award after 10 years of tenure.  He succeeded the founding patron Dame Beryl Bainbridge, DBE who sadly passed away in 2010 after serving as patron for only one year.

For more information, visit our website at www.peoplesbookprize.com

Rewarding talent voted exclusively by the public:

6 Awards:  For Fiction, Non-Fiction, Children’s,

Best Achievement, Best Publisher and The Beryl Bainbridge First-Time Author Award.

Patron Emeritus:  Frederick Forsyth CBE

Founding Patron:  Dame Beryl Bainbridge DBE

Previous Ceremonies:

The 2018/2019 Ceremony:

The 6 winners were announced at the prestigious black tie Awards Ceremony at the historic Stationers’ Hall on 8th May 2019  -

View Winners

The 2016/2017 Ceremony:



The 2015/2016 Ceremony

12th July 2016 SKY NEWS


The 2014/2015 Ceremony

The 2012/2013 Ceremony

The 2011/2012 Ceremony

The 2009/2010 Ceremony

Interview 1 with Patron Frederick Forsyth CBE

Interview 2 with Patron Frederick Forsyth CBE