Where YOU judge...

new and undiscovered literary works!


What is the People's Book Prize?
The People’s Book Prize is the unique literary competition that is judged by the nation and open to all publishing companies. Patrons:  Frederick Forsyth CBE and The Publishers Association.  Founding Patron:  Dame Beryl Bainbridge DBE.
What are The People’s Book Prize aims?
  1. finding, supporting and promoting new and undiscovered works of literature
  2. help to eradicate illiteracy


Why was The People’s Book Prize created?
  • to give authors a better chance of being read
  • to create a unique space where publishers can showcase their authors’ work
  • to offer marketing, sales and social media support to publishers and their authors
  • to give the public the opportunity to choose the next Bestsellers and discover new talent
  • to encourage community interaction and take an active role
  • to celebrate reading
  • to get people reading – everybody can take part
Has The People’s Book Prize a Constitution?

  • To champion new and undiscovered literary works.
  • To secure a transparent democratic process
  • To empower the public to vote with confidence for the next bestsellers
  • To engage the community
  • To raise the profile of publishers, libraries and writers
  • To form an alliance with retailers to sell and distribute winners’ books.
  • To support literacy
  • To foster a love of reading
  • To inspire the next generation of best untapped writing talent
  • To eradicate illiteracy
How are the books chosen?
Publishers are invited to submit titles.
Can authors submit their books?
Only through their publisher.
How does it work?

The People’s Book Prize showcase entries in 2 collections x year.

Summer: from 1 July 2019 to 15 October 2019
Winter: 1 November 2019 to 15 February 2020

How many categories are in each collection?
Three:  Fiction, Non-Fiction and Children’s
How do people vote?

You can vote:  for 3 different books in each of the 3 categories: Fiction, Non Fiction, Children’s:  Click on the category and browse through the titles showcased BUT only ONCE for the book of your choice from the dedicated page of that title — otherwise our system will reject it.

You do not need to register or login.

How many books can people vote for?

One vote per book:

For the Entries showcased in a Collection:

You can vote for 9 different books:  

3 books from Fiction, 3 from Non-fiction and 3 from Children’s (9 books in total)

For the Finalists to choose the overall Winners:  From the special Finalists Voting pages:

You can vote for 3 different books in each category  (9 books in total)

Top six books x 3 categories x 2 collections = 36 finalists.

Someone who voted first time round (for the entries) is allowed to vote for the same book again if it becomes a Finalist.

How are the winners chosen?

Members of the public vote for their favourite books on www.peoplesbookprize.com  The votes received by the 36 finalists are carried forward and the public vote again from 1March – 15 April 2020.

Someone who voted first time round (for the entries) is allowed to vote for the same book again.

Winners are announced at the Awards Ceremony. (See below)

The People’s Book Prize have no judges. YOU are the Jury!

How many times can I vote for a book?

You cannot vote for the same book twice as an Entry or as a Finalist– it will be rejected.

But people can vote for the same book as and Entry  (first round)  and then as a Finalist (second round) to determine the overall winners. 

How are votes registered?
In The People’s Book Prize computerised safe system.
How many Awards?

The People’s Book Prize for Fiction | Non-Fiction | Children’s Literature (voted for exclusively by the public)
The Beryl Bainbridge Award for a First Time Author (from the 36 finalists – voted for exclusively by the public -discretionary )
The People’s Book Prize Special Achievement Award (from the 36 finalists – voted for exclusively by the public – discretionary)

The People’s Book Prize Best Publisher Award – chosen from the publishers featured in the 2 collections.

Why is The People’s Book Prize unique?
This is a project in which EVERYBODY can get involved, and where all gain something.  Join and help spread the word so The People’s Book Prize becomes the No. 1 Book competition!

In the words of our Founding Patron, Dame Beryl Bainbridge DBE:  “…this idea – which is absolutely amazing – will be of enormous importance to writers.  I look forward to the time when we mention this particular prize as the greatest…

The 2019/2020 Ceremony:

The 6 winners will be announced at the prestigious black tie Awards Ceremony at the historic Stationers’ Hall  - Date to be Announced.

Previous Ceremonies:

The 2018/2019 Ceremony:

The 6 winners were announced at the prestigious black tie Awards Ceremony at the historic Stationers’ Hall on 8th May 2019  -

View Winners

The 2016/2017 Ceremony:



The 2015/2016 Ceremony

12th July 2016 SKY NEWS


The 2014/2015 Ceremony

The 2012/2013 Ceremony

The 2011/2012 Ceremony

The 2009/2010 Ceremony

Interview 1 with Patron Frederick Forsyth CBE

Interview 2 with Patron Frederick Forsyth CBE

IMPORTANT:   GDPR  General Data Protection Regulation  — In accordance with our policy www.peoplesbookprize.com have never sold or disclosed the emails or other information from publishers/authors/voters.   This will continue to be the case – for the sake of clarity and to further comply with the existing regulations we reiterate that the information contained in this web site has been provided to us by the publishers in their submission form to us and have given us their authorisation to include the details in www.peoplesbookprize.com