Where YOU judge...

new and undiscovered literary works!

Winners & Finalists TPBP 2016 - 2017

TPBP FICTION

The Grotto’s Secret by Paula Wynne published by Prado Press

A Historical Conspiracy Thriller for fans of Glenn Cooper, Kate Mosse and James Rollins.  A healing herb kept secret for centuries.  A TV show host who stands to lose everything. Castile de Granada, 1492: Risking her life, Spanish author Ana-María de Carbonela vowed to keep an unknown yet powerful healing herb’s location hidden. It remained a secret …  Until now.


TPBP NON FICTION

A Life in Death by Richard Venables, Kris Hollington  published by Thistle Publishing 

Detective Inspector Richard Venables (QPM, rtd.) has helped identify thousands of bodies all over the world, piecing together fragments from tsunamis, transport and other disasters to return the victims to their loved ones. In this book, he tells his extraordinary story, of how death came to be a key feature of his personal as well as professional life, as well as how he coped with the biggest challenge of his life: the 2004 Asian Tsunami, the deadliest event of its kind ever experienced by human civilization, claiming 230,000 lives.


TPBP CHILDREN

The Wolf is Not Invited by Avril McDonald  published by Crown House Publishing Limited

Wolfgang is left heartbroken when his best friend Catreen runs off without him to play with Clarissa. Spider shows Wolfgang how to make his own fun and Wolfgang realises that there are other great friends out there just waiting to be met! There are some situations and feelings that we cannot change and there are some that we can. Knowing the difference between the two (and some ways to make ourselves feel happy) is a great trick to have up our sleeves!


TPBP Beryl Bainbridge Award for Best First Time Author

Library Cat (Subtitle The Observations of a Thinking Cat) by Alex Howard Published by Black & White Publishing

This is a story about Library Cat’s thoughts and his own search for completeness in this fractured world. ‘Library Cat: The Observations of a Thinking Cat’ is a funny, witty and irreverent look at the world, seen through the unusually observant eyes of Edinburgh University Library’s resident cat.


BEST ACHIEVEMENT AWARD – 2 Winners

Sometimes A River Song By Avril Joy Published by Linen Press

Set in a river boat community in Arkansas in the 1930s, this poignant story chronicles Aiyana Weir’s spirited determination to break away from a life, like that of the women around her, defined and dominated by brutal patriarch

Rent Unmasked (Subtitle How to save the global economy and build a sustainable future) by Fred Harrison ed. Published by Shepheard-Walwyn (Publishers) Ltd

As statesmen struggle to understand why our world is locked in a profound crisis, the authors explain that the solution to political paralysis requires a new form of governance, based on a fiscal reform that transfers power to the people, leading to full employment, sustainable growth and respect for environment.


BEST PUBLISHER AWARD

Hammersmith Books Limited
Georgina Bentliff,
Publisher Email:  gmb@hammersmithpress.co.uk
Phone Number:  07887646085


 

Finalists for Spring 2016

Fiction:
The Modigliani Girl  
by Jacqui Lofthouse published by Blackbird Digital Books
The Grotto’s Secret by Paula Wynne published by Prado Press
Murder Ring   by Leigh Russell published by Old Castle Books

Non Fiction:
Irreplaceable  
byLouise Moir published by Thistle Publishing
Chilled Children  
Stuart and Amanda Jewell published by Poems and Pictures Ltd
HIRED, FIRED, FLED  
by Charlie Raymond  published by Saxon Nomad Media

Children’s:
Escape From Nettle Farm  by
 Justin Davis published by Matador     
Meo the Meerkat by Kevin Crookes published by Blossom Spring Publishing
An Alphabet of Awful Animals for Adults  by George Courtauld published byEssex Women’s Advisory Group


Finalists for Winter 2016

Fiction:
The End of the Pier 
by James C. Lee published by Troubador Publishing Ltd
Quintember by Richard Major published by Indie Books
Rickshaw  by David McGrath  published by Thistle Publishing

Non Fiction:
A Life in Death 
by Richard Venables, Kris Hollington  published by Thistle Publishing
100 Ways to Fight the Flab – and still have wine and chocolate 
by Jane Wenham-Jones published byAccent Press Ltd
Rent Unmasked 
by Fred Harrison published by Shepheard-Walwyn (Publishers) Ltd

Children’s:
Saving Maya by Janetta Harvey, illustrated by Annabel Wilson  published by Troubador Publishing Ltd       

Triangular Trev And The Shape Idols by Christina Gabbitas  published by Poems and Pictures Ltd
Chatty Cat by Suzan Collins  published by East Anglia Press


Finalists for Autumn 2016

Fiction:
Valehttp://www.archive.peoplesbookprize.comntina 
by S. E. Lynes published by Blackbird Digital Books
The Shift by R J Mitchell published by McNidder & Grace
Sometimes A River Song by Avril Joy published by Linen Press

Non Fiction:
Prevent and Cure Diabetes 
by Dr Sarah Myhill and Craig Robinson  published by Hammersmith Books Limited
Teenage Kicks 
by Michael Bradley published by Omnibus Press / Music Sales Ltd
Blag, Steal & Borrow 
by Gary Raymond published by Percy Publishing

Children’s:
The Wolf is Not Invited by Avril McDonald  published by Crown House Publishing Limited     

Little Red Riding Hood, The Wolf, Grandma and The Woodcutter by John Fidler published by Creative Educational Press Ltd
King’s Company by Jessamy Taylor published by Indie Books


Finalists for Summer 2016

Fiction:
Catryn Power Short Stories 
by Catryn Power published by On Stream Publications
Surfing in Stilettos by Carol Wyer  published by Delancey Press
Lifeform Three by Roz Morris  published by Fabled Lands LLP

Non Fiction:
Library Cat 
by Alex Howard   published by Black & White Publishing 
From Yellow Star to Pop Star 
by Dorit Oliver-Wolff  published byRed Door Publishing
The Upside Down Mountain  
by Mags MacKean  published by John Hunt Publishing

Children’s:
Melvin McGee: Zombie Hunter by Mathew Sullivan published by Creative Educational Press Ltd    

Apley Towers: The Lost Kodas by Myra King  published by Sweet Cherry Publishing
Dognapped! by David J Robertson published by Troubador Publishing Ltd